The Weight Loss Papers, 2

It seems a lot of people are finding this blog using keywords and searches that include weight loss, vegetarian, lose weight, Isagenix and many related terms. So, thank you for arriving here! I hope you enjoy your look around. Please feel free to subscribe to the RSS feed (I recommend using Bloglines – it’s a great little service!) or to just bookmark me and visit every now and then. (Daily is good! 😉 )

So, The Weight Loss Papers is about my journey to losing that last little bit of weight the is almost as stubborn as I am. Last week, I did the first in the series (feel free to check it out below) and I’ve also written some reviews on the Isagenix products which I am using in conjunction with my plan. Now, I’m not following the Isagenix plan to a “T” – and if you’re an Isa fan, please don’t shoot me – because that didn’t work very well. I was not achieving the results I wanted to achieve.

Doing things my own way is part of that stubborn streak, I think.

Here’s what I do –
I’ve mostly become a vegetarian, although I do eat a small amount of meat (organic, grass fed if possible) with very little to no red meat at all. I tend to eat chicken or salmon with the occasional pork chop but I only eat it about 3 times a week. I have been using “meatless” meats when possible and I tend to prefer the Garden Burger brand of such items. They make a bbq riblet that is really good. There are also some “turkey” meatballs that even my family likes.

Anyway, since I’m not a breakfast foods type of person to begin with, I find it really easy to stick with the IsaShake for breakfast, as their plan calls for. But instead of having the second shake for dinner and eating a good, healthy lunch, I have he second shake for lunch and eat a good, healthy dinner.

The problem for me has been that I only eat about 180-240 calories at a time so a shake for dinner leaves me hungry no matter what I do. Since I tend to eat several small meals in a day, a strict diet of one meal and 2 shakes is closer to a starvation diet for me where you actually skip meals like breakfast (which does NOT work, by the way).

My plan is a shake for breakfast about 7am, a small snack at mid-morning of about 180-240 calories, shake for lucnh, another small snack about 3pm or so and a dinner of about 400-600 calories around 7pm.

Many diet plans will advise you not to eat after about 7pm. And that’s fine for most people but I’m a nightowl, so I find that rather difficult to maintain.

I also exercise, usually twice a day, for about 20 minutes each time. Once mid-morning and once in the evening. I use the Tony Little Gazelle. It’s relatively low impact so my lower back doesn’t get too stressed.

I don’t follow the 9-day cleanse or the 30 day Isagenix plan, either. I have created my own version, coupled with some stuff I learned from Tim Ferris’ website that’s like a mini-cleanse, if you will. I’ll explain more about that in the next update.

Since I started doing it this way, I’m rapidly losing the inches and feeling better than I did when I followed the Isagenix plan exactly. If you’re not having the results you want with it, I recommend finding a way that works for your type and lifestyle.

As always, if you have questions or comments on weight loss or Isagenix, please feel free to contact me and I’ll do my best to answer your questions. If I don’t know an answer, I’ll find someone who does.

Blessings,
Annie

PS – Here’s a picture I created to help motivate you towards achieving your goals, whether they’re about weight loss or anything else.

aim-background2.jpg

About Annie S. Anderson

Hi, I'm Annie - coach + visionary + storyteller + founder of One Generation Peace Project. Mom of 4, living in the great Pacific Northwest near Seattle. I love books, music, reading, computers, writing, old VW's, cats, the ocean and coffee.
This entry was posted in Health, Life, Main, News, Reviews, Updates, Vegetarian, Weight Loss Papers. Bookmark the permalink.