Go Veg!

I know some people are going to balk at me and my mother may disown me, but . . . I’ve decided to go vegetarian. It’s an idea I’ve been wrestling with for quite some time and I’ve finally decided to do it fully.

Several months ago, I began eating about 1/4 of the meat I normally ate. And a few months ago, I stopped eating red meat. More recently, I began eating primarily only chicken and fish when having meals with meat with the occasional pork chop thrown in. And I’ve noticed I feel so much better, it’s hard to describe.

Since I began consuming less meat, and especially red meat, I have more energy, I’ve lost some weight (and if you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time, you know that’s been a challenge) and I am having less allergy problems.

Now, I’m sure my family is going to complain loudly but they all know that when mom’s made up her mind about something, that’s it! 😉 And this will be no different. I’ve slowly been changing what we eat over the last 4-5 months anyway so it won’t be a huge shock to them but I’m sure they’ll complain some. All kids do.

I have already introduced soy products and other meatless foods into my cooking and staples so they are already know they like soy milk and cheese and stuff. I think the hardest part for the younger kids will be cheeseburgers. Fortunately, none of them like eggs so that won’t be an issue.

So, give me your thoughts! Any veggies out there? If so, how long have you been veggie? Why did you make the choice? And let me know if you have any tips for picky kids who don’t like vegetables in general.

Blessings,

Annie

About Annie S. Anderson

Hi, I'm Annie - coach + visionary + storyteller + founder of One Generation Peace Project. Mom of 4, living in the great Pacific Northwest near Seattle. I love books, music, reading, computers, writing, old VW's, cats, the ocean and coffee.
This entry was posted in Health, Life, Main, News, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Go Veg!

  1. teeni says:

    Hi Annie. I am a new mostly-vegetarian at the moment so I can’t answer your questions but I have met many wonderful vegetarians and vegans here on WordPress. Feel free to stop by my place (the Vaguetarian Tea Room – vtroom.wordpress.com) and check out the blogroll. Lots of great people there. Also, for picky kids it might be worth checking out the Vegan lunchbox – you don’t have to be as strict if you just want to be vegetarian but lots of great ideas to keep kids AND adults interested in veggie food there. I wish you well in your endeavours – keep posting as to how you are making out!

Comments are closed.