The Power of the Subconscious Mind

The Power of the Subconscious Mind…

Months ago, I began studying the Law of Attraction and other Universal Facts. As I began to understand, I began to correlate my own life experiences with the truths I was reading and studying. And I’ll tell you – some of what I have come to recognize is so simple, yet so profound, that it’s almost scarey. And some of it is so life-changing that if you truly surrender to it, nothing in your life will ever be quite the same.

In all of this, the one thing that has had the single most impact is coming to know just how powerful the subconscious mind really is. Throughout my life, I’d heard such adages as “you are what you think,” “garbage in, garbage out,” and other such paradigms but I never really gave them much thought or thought they held much truth. But I was so wrong! All of those little idioms we tire of hearing have real impact and real significance if we actually listen to what they are trying to tell us.

So that’s what I want to talk about today . . . Thoughts Become Things.

Whatever happens in your life is something you’ve created.

I no longer believe in coincidences or happenstance or accidents. Everything I experience is something I have created, whether consciously or subconsciously. This is why it’s so important to guard your thoughts and to think about things that truly serve you rather than those things that only serve to bring you down.

For example, if you constantly think about a lack of money, guess what happens? You EXPERIENCE a lack of money. If you constantly worry about getting sick during some important event or season, again, guess what happens? You EXPERIENCE sickness.

And what do you say? You say “See, I KNEW I was going to get sick.” Or “See, I just KNEW I wouldn’t have enough money for whatever.”

Do you see how powerful your thoughts are? I hope so.

Now, just what do you do to CHANGE that pattern? It’s really pretty simple . . . you STOP thinking negative thoughts.

And please, no excuses! I hope you’re not sitting there thinking “But Annie, I can’t do that!” Or “Yeah, right, Annie! Easier said than done!”

Well, either way, you could be right. But let’s think about this for a moment – if our thoughts become things and what we think is ultimately the reality we experience, wouldn’t thinking the opposite also be true?

YES! YES! YES!

So, instead of thinking, “I just can’t,” try thinking “I really can.” And that’s all it takes. Really.

You must be willing to change YOUR MINDSET if you want to change YOUR WORLD. I think it was Nelson Mandela who said “We must be the change we seek in the world.” And to me, that goes hand in hand with the Golden Rule – “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you” – although that’s a topic all on its own that perhaps we’ll discuss at some point.

Trusting that the Universe will bring you whatever it is you seek is the first step. You must believe that whatever you ask for is on its way to you simply because you asked for it.

One of my favorite Bible verses says “Whatever you ask for in faith, believe that you have received it and it will be yours.”

Let’s break down exactly what that means . . .

First, what does Faith mean? According to the American Heritage Dictionary, it means:

1. Confident belief in the truth, value, or trustworthiness of a person, idea, or thing. 2. Belief that does not rest on logical proof or material evidence. See synonyms at belief. , trust. 3. Loyalty to a person or thing; allegiance: keeping faith with one’s supporters. 4. often Faith Christianity The theological virtue defined as secure belief in God and a trusting acceptance of God’s will. 5. The body of dogma of a religion: the Muslim faith. 6. A set of principles or beliefs.

For our purposes here, let’s use the first definition given… “Confident belief in the truth, value or trusworhiness of a person, idea or thing.”

Ok… so, we can say that the first part of verse means that we must have “confident belief” in what we ask for.

Then, we must believe we have received it. Do you get that? We must believe it’s already here! Whatever we’ve asked for, we must believe has already arrived, we must claim it as our own.

And last, it says if we do those 2 things – have confident belief and believe we’ve received it, IT WILL BE OURS!

How great is that?

See, we have no excuses when it all boils down to it. God has given us the explicit recipe for anything our heart desires! Simply ask and believe and it’s ours! That’s it! No magic formula. No smoke and mirrors.

And this is where our subconscious mind traps us. We think negative thoughts, we make excuses, and when what we actually DO want doesn’t materialize, we blame everyone but ourselves. And therein lies the problem.

I hope you’re beginning to truly understand what impact your thoughts have on your life.

I’ll be back in a day or two with another segment.

Until then,
Annie

About Annie S. Anderson

Hi, I'm Annie - coach + visionary + storyteller + founder of One Generation Peace Project. Mom of 4, living in the great Pacific Northwest near Seattle. I love books, music, reading, computers, writing, old VW's, cats, the ocean and coffee.
This entry was posted in Health, Life, Main. Bookmark the permalink.