Happy New Year! (Or . . . Why I Hate Resolutions)

It’s that time of year when folks start talking about resolutions and what they want for the new year. And for some people, I’m sure resolutions work just fine. But you know, there are a lot of people for whom the connotation of a “resolution” just brings up all sorts of past stuff they’d rather not deal with.

Personally, I don’t like resolutions. I think they cause more fear than resolve. They cause more failure than success. And leave many people feeling worse a few months into the new year. Now, I think there could be many reasons for this. Perhaps the resolutions were too big for the person’s thinking thus setting them up for failure to begin with. Perhaps it wasn’t challenging enough so there was no motivation to do anything with it. Or maybe there was no passion behind it in the first place. Maybe it was simply a case of going through the motions or just doing it because everyone else was.

And that’s why I don’t like them. No resolutions for me.

Instead, I call them Intentions.

The word “intention” has a different feeling behind it. Unlike resolution, it is not a negative feeling, rather it suggests an entirely different attitude. One more along the lines of “I can do it!” And that’s what makes the difference.

So, what are your intentions for 2007? If you haven’t thought of any because you cringe at the thought of setting resolutions, then don’t! Just set some intentions and see how it goes! You can write them down. Or not. Your choice.

Put the Law of Attraction to work for you in 2007. Create a clear vision of what you desire and then let them happen.

Blessings,

Annie

PS – see my post from yesterday for a pdf of abundance checks you can print out and use with your intentions! Give them some extra power . . . you never know what you might find!

PPS – get ready for new Reading Lists and Lesso’s of the Week beginning again next week.

About Annie S. Anderson

Hi, I'm Annie - coach + visionary + storyteller + founder of One Generation Peace Project. Mom of 4, living in the great Pacific Northwest near Seattle. I love books, music, reading, computers, writing, old VW's, cats, the ocean and coffee.
This entry was posted in Health, Life, Main, News, Updates. Bookmark the permalink.