Review: Apple MacBook Pro

MacBook Pro Well, when my PC laptop finally died a few weeks ago, I finally decided to take the plunge… I bought a MacBook Pro to replace it. Something I’ve had my eye on for quite some time. Years, actually. Well, at least an Apple laptop anyway becaused the MacBook Pro hasn’t been out that long.

So far, I’m *very* happy with my purchase. It’s been a long time since I’ve used a Mac – probably 8-10 years so it took me a few days to relearn the lingo but I definitely like the new OSX as opposed to the older versions that were in use the last time I used a Mac — sometime around 1996 or so.

Specs on my Mac are as follows:

15.4 inch, 2.33Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo with 2GB of RAM and a 120GB harddrive. It also has a built-in wireless card and is Bluetooth capable. In addition, it comes equipped with a SuperDrive (a CD/DVD RW), a built-in iSight camera, 2 firewire ports and 2 USB ports. I added a wireless Mighty Mouse and some additional software including the Adobe Graphics Suite, Office for Mac and the .Mac service.

The performance is great! I can open iTunes, my browser (Firefox), the mail program, and use Office as well as the Adobe Suite with no drop in performance. Transferring my files from the PC’s harddrive was easy too. Luckily, I can still boot it up enough to access the files via my home network. Setting up the network on the Mac was a cinch and now, everything is transferred. And there’s still over 80GB of space on the Mac’s HD!

I really like the widescreen display and the ease of use with the touchpad. It takes a bit getting used to no double-clicking like a PC, but the drag and drop features are second to none. Another feature I really like is the backlit keyboard – a feature I have been dreaming of for years! In fact, I think it’s my favorite feature.

The only draw-back at this point is that I’m not too fond of the SuperDrive location. I would prefer it on the right hand side rather than in the front. But it’s a small inconvenience that I can live with.

Now, can someone point me in the direction of a definitive guide on accessing and using all of these cool features? I’d like to do some podcasting and what-not and ramp up my graphic design artwork.

Blessings,

Annie

PS – for a complete review of the MacBook Pro, see this article on CNet.


Digg!

About Annie S. Anderson

Hi, I'm Annie - coach + visionary + storyteller + founder of One Generation Peace Project. Mom of 4, living in the great Pacific Northwest near Seattle. I love books, music, reading, computers, writing, old VW's, cats, the ocean and coffee.
This entry was posted in Life, Main, News, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.