I just wonder why

Once again, I’ve been silent here and I apologize. Seems my poor ol’ computer just finally got tired of working (my 2 year old spilled a full cup of coffee on it several months ago). Anyway, I just got a new computer and I’m very happy to be back!

So, that’s not what I really want to write about, though.

For reasons I just can’t explain, the news about CNet Senior Editor James Kim has blown a hole in my heart. I’ve been following the story since he and his wife Kati and their children went missing on their return trip from Washington to California. It was so wonderful when Kati and the girls were found! It brought tears of joy from strangers and friends alike all around the world. It brought renewed hope that James would be found as well.

And yesterday, as you may know, he was found — deceased at the bottom of the ravine where rescuers had been searching.

I don’t think I’ve been this deeply affected by the death of someone that I didn’t really know since I was a child. I remember when I was about 12 or so, a great-aunt whom I didn’t know well committed suicide. I just couldn’t grasp that. I mean, I understood what it meant, but I just could not understand why something like that would happen, why someone would do that to themselves. And just like the story of James Kim, it affected me deeply.

Friends of the Kims are accepting donations to help Kati and the girls at a website they had set up before any of them were found. I made a donation yesterday and I encourage you to do so if you can. Simply go to jamesandkati.com and click the donation button which will take you to PayPal. You can donate any amount you wish.

You know, it’s not about the money, though. It’s about reaching out to a fellow human being in a time of sorrow, a time of need. It’s about giving. And not just because it’s Christmas but because it leads to healing and forgiveness. For all of us.

Blessings all ways,

Annie

About Annie S. Anderson

Hi, I'm Annie - coach + visionary + storyteller + founder of One Generation Peace Project. Mom of 4, living in the great Pacific Northwest near Seattle. I love books, music, reading, computers, writing, old VW's, cats, the ocean and coffee.
This entry was posted in Life, Main, News, Updates. Bookmark the permalink.