Life Tools, part 1: Gratitude List & Morning Pages

Every day for the last 5 years, I’ve written a “Gratitude List” first thing in morning. It’s a technique I learned in a class I took at the community college. That class forever changed my life. I met some of the most wonderful friends I’ve ever had and learned so much about myself that it was clearly the biggest turning point in my life.

But back to the list – I have found this one simple task gives me a great focus for the day, helping me to be centered and calm. I started out with writing 5 things that I was grateful for. In the beginning sometimes it was hard to find anything to write down but now I’ve found that the list gets longer and longer over time. Today it’s not unusual to write 20 or more items on my daily list.

In addition to the Gratitude List, I also quickly write down everything that’s cluttering my thoughts. Sometimes this is just a paragraph or two and sometimes several pages. This helps me get all those things that bombard my head out of my head allowing me to have a quiet mind to work from. Later, I can go back and explore anything that needs further thought. In Simpleology, Mark Joyner calls this the “morning brain dump” but I don’t like that term. I prefer to call them “morning pages” like Julia Cameron does in her book “The Artist’s Way.” In the class I took, our instructors simply called it a journal.

Tomorrow, we’ll explore this further so check back then!

Blessings all ways,
Annie

About Annie S. Anderson

Hi, I'm Annie - coach + visionary + storyteller + founder of One Generation Peace Project. Mom of 4, living in the great Pacific Northwest near Seattle. I love books, music, reading, computers, writing, old VW's, cats, the ocean and coffee.
This entry was posted in Coaching, Life, Main, News, Writing & Design. Bookmark the permalink.